Illustrating Horton Halfpott

Here’s a look at the map for Horton Halfpott when I was part way through inking it…

I was telling Cece that these 50 drawings for Horton Halfpott may be the most work I’ve ever done on anything. Compared to this the writing is a breeze.

I have researched clothing and architecture of the era. I have doodled and sketched and traced and inked and made mistakes and had to do stuff over until I’ve been half-blinded by the glare of the lightbox.
But it’s almost done now. Just a few odds and ends left to go.

And the best news: the very last drawing in the book is perhaps the very best thing I’ve ever drawn. (But when the time comes don’t flip back to look at it, you’ll spoil the ending!)

5 Responses

  1. This looks wonderful! I write (non-fiction only) but have absolutely no talent for drawing. Doodling and stick figures is as far as I get. Keep up the good work!

    Erin

  2. Are you two gonna make more books?????

    • Yes!
      More books are coming! Horton, then the Origami Yoda sequel and I’m currently working on the book which will come after that! If you keep reading, I’ll keep writing…
      Tom

  3. I really like The Strange Case of the Origami Yoda. I think it shield be made into a movie. Koltyn

    • Thanks a lot! I’d love for it to be a movie … but that’s a Hollywood decision and is out of my hands.

      I hope you’ll like Horton Halfpott, too!

Leave a Reply

