Eureka writing moment on hike! Good thing I packed a notebook…

On a recent hike I had a decent idea and remembered a forgotten good idea. Then I almost forgot them both, so I scrounged in my backpack and ended up writing notes on an old manilla envelope.

For this hike, I packed a notebook — just in case!
See, I’m working on Llama in a Hat 2 and I decided to discard the ending I had planned. I realized it just wasn’t True. But without it I had all these puzzle pieces and couldn’t fit them together again.

Nearing the top of Hightop Mountain it suddenly fit together again. A couple of ideas I had toyed with suddenly bonded and a new ending was created and a new scene earlier in the book was born which I am very, very excited about.

I found a place to hook the dogs’ leaShes and I sat down, got out the notebook and wrote it down. I was so full of myself that I actually drew a little illustration of –er– the Llama to go with it.

3 Responses

  1. I’m going to have to be a real dink and ask you- is your vet one of those old-school homeopathic types and for what reason did he prescribe attaching leaches to your dogs?

  2. Steve,
    I have no idea what you’re talking about.
    Tom

  3. I must need to clean my contacts…

Leave a Reply

