I wish we had those Spanish question marks….

I’m working on an MS.

I want a chacacter to ask a question, but get cut off in the middle. It looks like this:

“Oh! You mean you …”
“Shhh!

I suppose I could find a way to shoe-horn soemthing in there like: “I just had to ask” or something. That would mess up the urgency of this scene though.

Wouldn’t it be so much easier if I could put an upside down question mark before my question as done in writing Spanish?

The MS by the way has been in the works forever and this is my final run-through before showing it to my agent!

2 Responses

  1. Ooh, another ms, exciting!

    I would punctuate as follows:

    “Oh, you mean you–?”

    “Shhh!”

    I think that works. But yes, upside down question marks could only make writing more enjoyable. And exclamation points!!!!

  2. ¿Why can’t you find an upside down question mark? In Word you get it by typing ctrl+alt+?

Leave a Reply

