Kidlit Trivia – Sci-Fi edition

Our last edition of Kidlit Trivia was a shocker! I thought the questions were too hard, but Wickle zoomed in and nailed all of them (minus the bonus questions) off the top of his head.

Let’s see how he — and the rest of you — fare with these Science Fiction Kidlit questions…

1) E.T.’s spaceship was inspired by the style of what kidlit illustrator?

2) Great Jumping Kadiddle Fish! The Mushroom Planet wasn’t really a planet! What was it?

3) In the graphic novels “Sardine in Outer Space,” what kind of creature is Sardine the Space Pirate?

4) Who is “Jasper Dash?”

5) And for you fantasy fans… Shoebag is a boy with a big secret. What is it?

And for 50 bonus points, why did I name the school in Origami Yoda “McQuarrie Middle School?”

4 Responses

  1. I’m hanging my head this time … I’m not doing so well, and it’s the science fiction category? Sigh …

    1) I have no idea.

    2) I don’t know … I know that it’s a wonderful flight to get there, and one might stow away, but I don’t know …

    3) I suppose that if I answer, “A sardine,” it will demonstrate that I’ve never read them, won’t it?

    4) Again, I haven’t read it, but I’ve seen the book in a store. I don’t know who s/he is, though.

    5) He’s a cockroach.

    Bonus: Looks like an homage to Ralph McQuarrie, the conceptual artist behind the look of “Star Wars,” the real “Battlestar Galactica,” and more stuff that I can’t remember.

  2. We’ve actually been reading the Sardine books. Sadly, that’s the only one I know.

  3. I only know #2, which is that the mushroom planet is actually a moon of Earth.

    Here’s a Science Fiction kidlit question for everyone but Sam, who already knows the answer:

    1. In which book is it implied that plastic fish are a galactic currency?

  4. P.S. Since I put a 1. in my comment, I should have had a 2. or omitted the 1. Ergo, here’s another one:

    2. In the same book as that of question 1, what is a suitable substitute for a space helmet?

Leave a Reply

