Big News: It’s (pretty) official!

The “DEAL” has been listed on Publishers Marketplace, so there’s no more need for me to be coy…

My cool O.Yoda editor at Abrams/Amulet has now picked up my mid-grade mystery “Horton Halfpott!”

This was the big news I was bubbling about a month or so ago. Today I got the contract, so it’s almost signed & sealed. No word yet on whether they’ll consider using my illustrations.

I’m so glad that this book is finally going to make it. Because I love Horton and his pal, Bump, and all the awful, awful bad folks that populate the story. Oh they’re really awful!

I was going to keep mum on the details, but those are out, too. So here you go:

HORTON HALFPOTT, Or the Fiendish Mystery of Smugwick Manor, or the Loosening of M’Lady Luggertuck’s Corset, an humorous tale about a good-natured kitchen boy involving a Stolen Diamond, snooping stableboys, a famous detective, the disappearance of a Valuable Wig, love, pickle eclairs, thrills, unbridled evil, and the Black Deeds of The Shipless Pirates, that all begins with the loosening of a Lady’s corset…

 

Whew…. That’s practically the whole book right there! It sounds a little like Snoopy’s Dark and Stormy Night book. But WAIT there’s more! So much more! We haven’t even mentioned nasty nasty nasty Miss Neversly yet! Coming in 2011… (Hopefully)

8 Responses

  1. Yay!! And again … Yay!! And did I mention, “Yay!!”?

  2. Congrats!!!

  3. Congratulations! That’s terrific! I’m looking forward to it.

  4. “He who is first shall be … well, not last. Fourth!”

  5. Great good news! I’m afraid of Miss Neversly already.

  6. Thanks a lot, everybody! I wish i could run around handing out copies of it right now, rather than wait two years….

  7. Congrats on the sale!! It sounds like a great and fun book.

Leave a Reply

