Starting Anew

I’ve been stunned by the vapidity on the TV coverage so far. “His car is 6 feet tall!”

So here’s some counter-programming:

That’s the Coke commercial starring Sharlene Hector as she sings Billy Taylor’s classic “I Wish I Knew What It Means to be Free.”  Some people say “don’t tamper with the classics” and I often agree, but in this case they made something new and wonderful.

As for the classic. It is amazing. This is Nina Simone singing the song, albeit without video:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nCodBBnUYRE

I’ve wondered about Nina Simone lately. If she were still alive, would she come back to America because of Obama?

And here are some of Billy Taylor’s lyrics, which to me sum up where America stands right now:

I wish I could give
All I’m longin’ to give
I wish I could live
Like I’m longin’ to live
I wish I could do
All the things that I can do
And though I’m way over due
I’d be starting anew

Leave a Reply

