Best Gross Poem Ever?

Cece and I had a wild time on our recent Author Visit to Hopewell, Va.

We met some great kids and …. AND … I may have gotten the best gross poem ever.

In case you don’t know… The kids in my book, The Qwikpick Adventure Society, journey across the suburbs in search of the legendary Fountain of Poop at the local wastewater treatment plant. They find it and after the ensuing hubbub, they write haiku about it. When I do an author visit, I use this to launch a Qwikpick Poetry Contest in which kids have about two minutes to write a poem entitled “The Worst Thing I Ever Smelled.” To see a Youtube video of a contest, click here.

 I’ve had some real masterpieces before, but this new one is up there, way up there! And the kid who wrote it was so cool and it was so great to be standing up there while his classmates were cheering and hollering and chanting for him. He definitely earned his Qwikpick T-shirt! (And remember he had just a couple of minutes to write this while sitting ont he floor of a gymnasium with 100 other kids.)

“The Worst Thing I Ever Smelt” by Bodie

When tolits fly to invade the earth.

Dropping poop bombs and shooting us with pee pee guns.

Making us all stink.

2 Responses

  1. Pee pee guns? Like BB guns, only … grosser?

    I love it!

    Well, I wouldn’t love it, but you know what I mean, right?

  2. Someone should totally turn this into a War of the Worlds type movie.

Leave a Reply

