Jonas Brothers & Walter & E.T. & Freddie & Kotzwinkle

This new Jonas Brothers “Walter the Farting Dog” movie (reported in Variety) would not be the first movie from a story by author William Kotzwinkle….

I speak not of his novelization of “E.T.” but rather of his work on:

Nightmare on Elm Street 4: The Dream Master

Which, if I recall correctly through the haze of many years, was rather a spot of fun.

As for a Walter movie, I could actually see it. Something like That Darn Cat, perhaps. (That Darn Cat also began life as a kid’s book.) Or, on the other hand, it could be really terrible like That Darn Cat (the remake).

As evidence of this:  “While his brothers play music, Frankie and the gaseous hound get involved in a plot that involves … thwarting jewel thieves.”

But what they really need to make the movie work is Elsa Lanchester. Who deserves her own post. Coming right up….

One Response

  1. I hadn’t realized that there was a remake of “That Darn Cat” until I picked it up at my local store, thinking that I was getting a great classic movie for my sons. I’m sure you can imagine my horror.

    I envision this conversation in some Disney office:

    Lackey #1: You know, people who read books don’t hate our movie “That Darn Cat.” It really doesn’t fit with our image. I’m thinking … remake!

    Lackey #2: That’s true. Think of “The Black Cauldron” and the whole Winnie the Pooh culture.

    Boss: You’re right. Do the remake.

    … If you’re interested in a “That Darn Cat” DVD, mine is available for cheap.

Leave a Reply

