Another great John Christopher comment

The John Christopher Week posts continue to draw interest and, in this case, another thoughtful comment. I’m making it a post so it doesn’t get lost and because the first sentence connects with something else I’m mulling over: non-library libraries.

from Patricia Carter:
I discovered this book [THE LOTUS CAVES] quite by accident in a small work place library.
Although I’m well beyond the ideal reader’s age, I thoroughly enjoyed the book.
As simple as it was, it was a true “page turner” that I found difficult to put down because I wanted to see where the story was leading to.
I was so pleased to see that John Christopher’s next series of books were available at my local library, but the oddly the original, The Lotus Caves was not.
This book provides enough detail so that the reader can clearly visualize the fantastic place the two boys find themselves in.
No overpaid movie stars or computer generated graphics here. Just good old human imagination and a willingness or daring to dream.
When researching this author I discovered that this book is to be made into a movie in the very near future, so I don’t understand why the book is not back in print.
You’d think it would make sense to make it availble for those that like to read, watch and compare.
So if you haven’t read the book, go out to your local second hand book store, request it be purchased by your local library or look for it at one of the online second hand book sellers.
Enjoy!!

Leave a Reply

