What I’m only reading now… and the 20-year spoiler.

Last time we checked, I was reading The Dark and Stormy Night Book (which isn’t all that bad) and listening to Silas Marner on CD.

Well, Silas Marner has been upgraded to my main book. I found myself reluctant to leave Marner for Dark & Stormy when it came time to pick up my book for bedtime reading. So I’ve put D&S on hold and downloaded Silas Marner and I’m nearing the end.

It is a very very good book. But I’m not feeling the sort of depths that were present in Middlemarch and Daniel Deronda.

Of course, that might also be because of the 20-year-old spoiler.

When I was in high school, I got a big kick out of Richard Armour, a humor writer who wrote snarky little parodies of the classics. Yes, 20 years later I still had a faint recollection of how Silas Marner would end. I knew that BLANK would happen to somebody, but I didn’t know who. Then as I was reading the book, I remembered. Ah well…

But you have to give Armour credit for being a memorable writer.

Leave a Reply

