Big News in Riddleburgerland…

The purchase of this beautiful Ryo Yabe diabolo represents two major milestones for me. (Well, one’s a lot major than the other.)
1) It means I’ve made up my mind to compete at the International Juggling Assoc. Festival this summer. The reason this isn’t the major milestone is that I’m not that good, but I’m going to “perfect” my routine and give it a shot.
2) The bigger milestone is that the diabolo is my long-awaited reward for finally signing the contract for Llama with a Hat. (codename.)
I signed the contract this morning and I am so excited about this book. I wish I could tell you what it was … I am practically bursting with the news, because the “llama” portion is big. BIG big. A household name. And something that I seriously never would have dreamed that I would be a part of because it’s just so BIG. I can’t wait for the book to come out. I can’t wait to see it for myself.
6 Responses

  1. Congratulations on the signing of Llama with a Hat! Now, the fun begins as we try to guess what the title really is. Here are some possibilities:

    1) Curious George Visits the Poop Fountain
    2) The Berenstain Bears and the Great Big Stink
    3) Kiersten’s Quikpick Trip: An American Girls Urban Adventure
    4) Amelia Bedelia and the Fried Baloney Biscuits

    Let me know if I’m even close.

  2. You’re so close it’s scary! But, believe it or not, you’ll have to think even BIGGER! (Or should I say smaller?)

    Speaking of #3, I think Marilla would make a great American Girl. A real lower-middle class, trailer park residing (but call her trailer trash at your own peril), mega-smart girl of unknown ethnic background who is the ringleader of an otherwise all-boy club.

  3. Congrats on the signing! I’ve done a bit of pondering on this and I think it’s obvious that you’re going to be handling the relaunch of the unjustifiably dormant “Dolly Parton’s Dixie Stampede” series. I for one can’t wait!

  4. Aha! It’s Clifford’s Cow Flop Fountain. I knew it.

    Marilla would make a great American Girl, but I cringe to think what the dolly would look like. Nothing like Marilla, that’s for sure.

  5. Now there’s a subject that has been avoided in Clifford books … how does Emily Elizabeth operate the giant pooper scooper?

    As for Dolly’s Dixie Stampede series: The seque, Hoofbeats and Heartbeats, has been rejected because of a scene involving a talking horse. I told Dolly, no talking horse, no Riddleburger.

  6. Hi, Sam!

    First, congrats!!!

    Second, um, OK … contract SIGNED. So why the mystery? Spill the beans already. Inquiring minds ….!!!!

    Third, great good luck with your diabolo thingy!

    Fourth, did you see one of C’s clients just signed for a trilogy with S&S? Pretty cool!

    Fifth, the PBP is coming along….

Leave a Reply

