Wizard’s Newbery Poll

If you haven’t seen Wizard Wireless’ Newber Poll go have a look…
After you vote, you can see the current numbers.
I was surprised to see that I wasn’t the only one who voted for Wheel On The School as one of my favorites. It’s such a wonderful book, but seems to get little notice anymore.
But (when I voted) it was actually ahead of the 2006 winner, Criss Cross. And even Shiloh.
I also saw that someone voted for “It’s Like This Cat.”
It wasn’t me, but I am fascinated by the book’s hypnotic simplicity. And really Qwikpick is  probably more like that book than any other Newbery.
I voted for The High King of course, even though I think it’s silly to have the fifth book in a series get the Newbery. The rules need to allow for (and maybe they do) a series to be chosen once the final installment is out. This would put the Chronicles of Prydain on the list, encouraging librarians to stock Castle of Llyr and Taran Wanderer.
A good poll would be — which Newbery should be taken off the list?  But that would be crass.
3 Responses

  1. Thanks for the link and it’s wonderful to see that I’m not the only one who’s fascinated by the results!

    I think if you conducted an informal poll, you’ll find the year people complain the most about is 1953, when the Newbery went to The Secret of the Andes, instead of Charlotte’s Web (which got an honor). Few people seem to have actually read the offending book though… so I was surprised (and impressed) to see one vote for the Secret of the Andes in my poll so far.

  2. I voted for It’s Like This, Cat, as one of my favorites.

  3. Wow! Really? Well, Rock On Cat!

Leave a Reply

