Mervyn Peake’s “Boy In Darkness” available in new edition

I just got an alert from Peter Winnington about a new edition of “Boy in Darkness.”

http://www.peterowen.com/pages/fiction/Boy%20in%20Darkness.html

BoyDarkCov

Peter tells me it has many Peake illustrations in it. And as we’ve discussed before, Peake is a powerful illustrator…

(from Treasure Island)

If you haven’t read Boy in Darkness, you should. It is unlike anything I have ever read, including the Gormenghast novels.

Yet, Boy in Darkness seems to be a part of the Gormenghast story. I certainly can’t claim to have understood it, or made much sense of it, but I’m glad I read it.

Whatever it is, it’s HIGHLY recommended.

Since I haven’t read it in some time, I asked Peter if it was kid-friendly. But that’s a hard question to answer. Let’s say that a very bright high-schooler might be spellbound by it, but not someone looking for a Harry Potter-style fantasy.

Leave a Reply

