update on that Steve Martin alphabet book

I checked out this book and, yes, the extract I featured earlier from a newspaper seems to have been a mistake..

I think I have it straight now. It’s NOT:

Needle-nosed Nigel won nine kinds of knockwurst/By winning a contest to see who could knock wurst

As I suspected, it IS:

Needle-nosed Nigel won nine kinds of knockwurst/By winning a contest to see who could knock worst

That one letter makes a big difference. Knocking wurst is just odd.

Also, I had previously wondered if Roz Chast’s drawings would appeal to kids. I think she’s the #1 New Yorker cartoonist, but oftentimes her work is (purposefully) depressing and cheerless.

Well, she’s got it going on in this book!

Leave a Reply

