Lloyd Alexander problem revisited…

I’ve made the e-quaintance of a very interesting writer/reader named Jason Fisher. He’s one of the first people I’ve met who has read as much or more Lloyd Alexander as I have.

So I asked him to consider my post about Alexander using the same plot and characters over and over. Here’s his response:

http://lingwe.blogspot.com/2007/11/some-thoughts-on-lloyd-alexander.html

And just a reminder before hate mail rolls in. I love Lloyd Alexander and put both the Prydain series and Prince Jen in my top tier of great books.

2 Responses

  1. By the way, Carlo Chucio was named one of the best books of the year by Publishers Weekly and in their one sentence about it they actually touched on this situation:
    The Golden Dream of Carlo Chuchio
    Lloyd Alexander (Holt)
    This posthumously published fantasy/adventure telescopes the themes of Alexander’s landmark Prydain Chronicles into a single potent volume.

  2. Ah, thanks for the shout-out. I’ve been reading Lloyd Alexander since the early 1980’s, and I corresponded with him briefly in the middle of that decade. What a wonderful, approachable man! In fact, even up to the time he died, his actual home address and telephone number were widely available. I even saw them on Google. He didn’t have to hide away from the masses (and wouldn’t have anyway, I don’t think). Not that he wasn’t popular; he was just a very generous and welcoming individual. A rare breed.

Leave a Reply

