UK’s Books for Boys & my additions, subtractions

http://entertainment.timesonline.co.uk/tol/arts_and_entertainment/books/article1794683.ece

There’s apparently an official governement list of books for boys in the UK. (It came out last May, but I missed it.)

I haven’t read most of them, but I have to point out that the list contains two of the most over-rated books of all time:

Huck Finn and Robinson Crusoe

Ugh. Why not throw Pilgrim’s Progress on there while you’re at it?

(I just read Horowitz’s bit about not forcing classics on kids. http://www.timesonline.co.uk/tol/news/uk/education/article2796199.ece

I agree with that regarding good classics and doubly agree regarding stinky classics, like Huck Finn. (Actually, I think I like it even LESS now than I did when I was a kid.))

Luckily, there are 165 other books that boys can read first.

Since this is a UK list it is an OUTRAGE that Helen Cresswell and John Christopher are not on it. WHAT THE HECK PEOPLE??? In what world is the Tripods series not the ultimate boy book fest?

A few of the books I would add to the list:

Any Pinkwater novel, esp. Alan M.

Lloyd Alexander’s Prydain series and Prince Jen

Ender’s Game

The Westing Game

The Great Brain series

The Furious Flycycle

The Bagthorpe Series

Night of the Birds

Hugo Cabret

The Lotus Caves

The White Mountains (Tripod series)

The Cyberiad, by Lem

and, of course,

The Qwikpick Adventure Society

Leave a Reply

