Harry Potter prequel – I called it…

I have to gloat a bit because I made this prediction back before Book 7 came out. I just didn’t know she would knock it out so fast.

http://www.abcnews.go.com/International/story?id=3811481&page=1

 Tolkien and Lucas (and Lloyd Alexander) had been unable to relinquish their imaginary worlds and had written prequels. As I predicted JK Rowling has now done the same with Tales of Beedle the Bard. (Very Dickensian name there. Dickens loved to pick on Beedles.)

From the sounds of it, this book is similar to the Simillrarllillionnion and Alexander’s “Foundling and Other Tales.” It’s not what Harry did just before book one. It’s more about adding to the mythology of Potter-world by telling a few fairy tales.

I’m certainly not complaining. If there was a market for it, I would certainly tell pre-Qwikpick stories about the days when Larry was calling it the Middle Earth Minimart & Subs.

4 Responses

  1. From the sounds of it, this book is similar to the Simillrarllillionnion [I assume this is meant to be a joke] and Alexander’s “Foundling and Other Tales.”

    It does sound similar to The Foundling, but not at all to The Silmarillion, nor is it very accurate to characterize The Silmarillion in the way you have — as a prequel written after the fact because Tolkien was “unable to relinquish [his] imaginary world.” He was unable to relinquish it, true — though why should he be expected to? — but the bulk of The Silmarillion actually predates The Lord of the Rings and even The Hobbit.

  2. Thanks for setting me straight. (And for knowing how to spell Simil…) I was under the impression that Tokien sort of notebook dumped into the Silmarillion.

    No, I don’t think Tolkien should have been expected to relinquish Middle Earth.
    Nor do I think JKR should have relinquished Potterworld.
    She set herself an arbitrary limit and is already trying to break it.
    I encourage her to do so. Let’s have some more books! The story of the Hogwarts founders, for instance, is begging to be told.

    But it must be done carefully. The Foundling adds to the Prydain story. Star Wars 1 subtracts from the Star Wars story. As for the Silmarillion … I just couldn’t understand a word of it.

  3. Nor do I think JKR should have relinquished Potterworld.
    She set herself an arbitrary limit and is already trying to break it.
    I encourage her to do so. Let’s have some more books! The story of the Hogwarts founders, for instance, is begging to be told.

    Ah, yes, I couldn’t agree more. All these authors who say “never”, then go back to their earlier fiction in the face of the inevitable “never say never”, it’s kind of funny, isn’t it. Why not just not say “never” to begin with? Ursula K. Le Guin did the same thing with the Earthsea books.

    But it must be done carefully. The Foundling adds to the Prydain story. Star Wars 1 subtracts from the Star Wars story. As for the Silmarillion … I just couldn’t understand a word of it.

    You are so right about Star Wars! As for The Silmarillion, hahae, well, you aren’t the first to have said this. It’s, shall we say, an acquired taste.

  4. As far as I am concerned, JK owns Hogwarts and therefore can write whatever she wants about it. There.

Leave a Reply

