Potty Humorist on the road…

librarysign.JPG

I drove a long way for a small crowd at a rural library today .. but boy was it worth it!

(Tom A. is my real name, by the way. Around here I use it for appearances to try to draw from my newspaper readership base. (Good luck with that.))

We had a blast! Or at least I did.

True, I didn’t sell a lot of books, but Cece pointed out that every family unit there took one home. (I’m referring to The Qwikpick Adventure Society, of course.)
The Instant Poetry Contest generated some crazy gross stuff, including smelly poems from two of the librarians! And a hilariously terse but nasty poem from a sweet little girl named Daisy. I’ll have to save all of that for poetry Friday, of course.
Also in the audience was a real live Sewage Professional! And, judging by his revolting poem and other writings, a fine wordsmith as well. And here’s a photo of his son. Don’t tell me this kid is not a TRUE Qwikpicker:

qwikpicker.jpg

I like to pull out some books from the library shelves that I can encourage the kids to read:

books.jpg

(That’s Prince Jen, Dear Mr. Henshaw, Pinkwater’s 5 Novels, A Day No Pigs Would Die and the ubiquitous Hugo Cabret. Next time, I’m going to add Millicent Min since the above pictured kid asked me why all the books were about boys.)

Sometimes I feel like I’m getting to the point where these sorts of wonderful experiences are outweighing the heartaches.

With more shows on Thursday for all the 3-5 graders at a Roanoke school and then a B&N signing on Saturday, followed by another signing at Blacksburg’s wonderful Easy Chair Bookstore this is really a great time for me. Yeeha!

3 Responses

  1. I can’t wait for the poems! I’ll have to share them with my son. He read (and loved) Quikpick, and he is anxious for another one.

    Oh, and my husband is one of those Sewage Professionals. Makes for interesting dinner talk. 🙂

  2. Yea, you!! I’ve said it before, and I’ll say it again … celebrate every victory, no matter how small. That’s what it’s all about.

    Looking forward to reading Daisy’s doozy!

  3. Sounds like it was fun! I can’t wait for the poetry!

    And although I love the book selections you put out, I’m also thrilled to pieces that a kid (a boy, no less!!!) asked where the heroines were! I wish people were asking publishers that!

Leave a Reply

