Strange genre: Picture books that kill off the main character

I’ve recently read the Icky Sticky Frog Tongue Book. (or something like that. it has an actual sticky tongue on the cover that you can stretch and snap.)

I hate to spoil the ending for you, but … THE FROG DIES.

Now, I’m not critiquing the book here. I’m simply pointing out that it belongs in a genre called: “Picture books that kill off the main character.”

I’ve been trying to think of others.

I’m sure there are some John Henry and Casey Jones books that reveal the fate of those men. But that’s all I can come up with. Maybe a dragon book, named after the dragon, where the dragon gets it. And maybe there are some serious Bridge to Terebithia-type picture books that deal with death for real.

Can you name any more books in this odd genre?

5 Responses

  1. Tadpole’s Promise by Willis.

  2. How about “The Spider and the Fly?” Technically a cautionary poem, but Tony DiTerlizzi did turn it into a very awesome picture book. Plus, do all those picture books about ghosts count, ’cause they kill off their main characters before the story even begins.

    And don’t even start with me on Bridge to Terebithia. I’ll never forgive Ms. Kesner for not warning me about that one…

  3. […] wrote an interesting post today on Strange genre: Picture books that kill off the main characterHere’s a quick […]

  4. Ugly Fish. Definitely the aforementioned Tadpole’s Promise. Some Smug Slug.

  5. I love your books!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Leave a Reply

