Kidlit Dilemma

What am I going to read tonight?

See, I had intended to start Cooper’s Dark is Rising books at long last, but I bought Dark is Rising, which turns out to be the second book.

So in the meantime, I’ve been working on Ozma of Oz, which so far is about Dorothy and TikTok. (Amazing how well I remember the beginning after 25 years.)

Tonight I checked the proper Cooper book (Over Sea Under Stone) out of the library, but while I was there I saw (and grabbed) the new and last Lloyd Alexander book!

So what am I going to read tonight?

—-

Breaking news: I picked the lloyd Alexander book. Classic Alexander with all your favorite character-types, this time in a Middle Eastern setting! Review coming soon….

2 Responses

  1. Start with The Dark Is Rising! Seriously. I posted at my blog about this about a year ago, but bottom line is I strongly recommend starting with book 2. Book 1 isn’t as good, quite frankly, and is a very weak intro to the story; and book 1 introduces 3 characters that don’t show up until book 3, so you can easily switch books 1 and 2 in terms of reading order. Book 2, then go back to read book 1, then on to the rest.

    Happy reading!

  2. I second Liz B. with the recommendation to start with The Dark is Rising. I read Over Sea, Under Stone first, and didn’t touch the rest of the series for a few years.

    I finally read Qwickpick! I enjoyed it, and laughed aloud in several places. Please tell me the name of the vampire kung-fu movie.

    I don’t know if I ever mentioned this, but when I was a little girl, I wanted to live in a trailer park. My family lived a mile away from our nearest neighbors way in the mountains, and I wanted to live near the people who lived in trailer park coal-camps because they had KIDS.

Leave a Reply

