Thrift store : kidlit motherlode!

The selection at Goodwill today was off the charts! Holy cow! Tons of good stuff. (That’s not always the case.) I’m not sure I’ve ever walked away with this many books before and some of these are incredible finds:

Who REALLY Killed Cock Robin? An Ecological Mystery, by Jean Craighead George

One of my favorites circa 5th grade, this 1971 book is the BOMB. Yes, the robin is dead, but there are no easy answers. This is the first time I’ve ever had a chance to grab my own copy.

The Mouse and His Child, by Russell and Lillian Hoban.

Never read it, but I saw the movie in a theater as a child and never forgot it.

Marvin Redpost: Is He a Girl?

You know I love Marvin.

The Dark is Rising.

Okay, okay, I’ll give this book another chance.

The Magician’s Boy, also by Cooper. Smashing cover.

The New Bobbsey Twins #18 The Secret at Sleepaway Camp

(my youngest son picked this one up.)

McBroom Tells a Lie, by Sid Fleischman

I’ve read Fleischman, of course, but never gotten into McBroom before.

How Do Dinosaurs Learn to Read – Yolen and Teague

An extremely short book. 6 pages. Abridged or just short? Anyway, older son likes Triceratops.

Whay Happens in a Car Factory. 1969. Old School non fiction, with b&W photos.

A Pippi book. My son loves Pippi in a dreadful animated cartoon format.

2 Responses

  1. You can find the entire film of “The Mouse and His child” on Youtube.

  2. Ah yes, the thrift store is the best place for perusing bookshelves. We always come away with loads of great stuff. But after years and years, I’m still searching in vain for a copy of Franklyn Meyer’s Me and Caleb.

Leave a Reply

