Sam’s Big News! Tom’s too…

Sam: I don’t exist… But that’s okay. I really don’t mind.

Tom:
I am so excited to be telling you about my big news! It’s really, really exciting! (And it also ends a long-running secret.)

My awesome publisher, Amulet, is going to come out with three more of my books! This is great news, because Amulet did such an amazing job with Origami Yoda and Horton Halfpott! I just can’t wait until these books are done so I can see what they look like and share them with all of you!

First of all, it’s time to end a secret … which most of you probably knew anyway….

I am Tom Angleberger AND Sam Riddleburger. Sam Riddleburger is a pen name I used on two books: “The Qwikpick Adventure Society” and “Stonewall Hinkleman and the Battle of Bull Run.” (I wrote Stonewall with a pal of mine. It’s a Civil War Time Travel Extravaganza. Check it out, you might dig it!)

Qwikpick is a book I really, really love. And I think a lot of you might like it, too. It’s got a little origami, a little bit of adventure and … a whole lot of sewage! (Really!)

Well, the great news is that Qwikpick is coming back! Amulet is going to reprint it. It’ll have an awesome new cover and new artwork inside, this time by me. Maybe even a new title. And my real name on it this time. I really hope you guys are going to like it!

The second book is going to be really, really wild! It’s a thriller set during a presidental election and it should be out in time for the real election in 2012. But don’t worry…. it’s not going to be all serious. In fact it won’t be ANY serious. It’s called “Fake Mustache!”

And the third book? Amulet hasn’t decided yet. We’ll just have to wait and see….

Speaking of waiting and seeing…

If you’re wondering about more Origami Yoda books all I can do is quote Harvey: “No comment!”

BUT WAIT THERE’S MORE!!!

One more book, this one from another great publisher, Clarion: It’s a picture book. I know most of you are done with picture books, but when it comes out, you can sneak over to the picture book shelf and peek at it…

The book is “Crankee Doodle” and it’s very, very silly. It’s by me and Cece!!

It’s so exciting, because we’ve been trying to publish a book together for 20 years or so… We’re a great team and help each other all the time. (Or at least she helps me…) Finally, we’re going to have our names together on our own book!

3 Responses

  1. Well, I’m torn … I love “Qwikpick,” and I’m thrilled to see it getting a second chance. On the other hand, the cover as it exists is such a wonderful thing. I love the whole design of the book and how it really grabs that kid-adventure-notebook feel.

    In any case, I’m glad to see all of this coming together. Looks like a great year.

  2. This blog post needs a “LIKE” button. And a “WOOT!” button.

  3. I picked up “Horton Halfpott” today … the cardboard display in the Barnes and Noble appeared to be missing three copies before I picked one up, in case you’re curious.

    Another freestanding display, huh? Well done!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 43 other followers

