OrigamiYoda.com and how I got it

I gave OrigamiYoda.com a soft launch a while back.  http://www.origamiyoda.com

Lately, I’ve been posting a lot of stuff on this blog and the new one, but they definitely serve different purposes.

I almost lost the domain name. In fact for a while it was lost.

Somehow the name of the book leaked out before I got around to registering the Website. (It may have been one of my own blog posts orone of those publisher’s round-ups.)

Anyway, someone must have heard about the book and bought the name just in case.

Then fate played it’s fickle hand. The book was delayed by an entire year.

A year passed and nothing happened, so the domain-grabber dropped it. As you can imagine, I didn’t dawdle this time around.

So, the moral of the story is: register your Website before your book title is made public.

11 Responses

  1. Good for you!

    I’m fine with free enterprise, but cyber-squatting is just obnoxious and grabbing money for not doing anything. I’m glad that it didn’t pay off …

  2. Mine is taken but, like yours, is not actually being used. Current ownership expires in early May. I’ll be at the ready if they fail to renew! (Fingers crossed.)

  3. I work for Barnes & Noble. Having been a lifetime Star Wars fan I couldn’t resist reading Your book. I am a 42 year old man and maybe a little “dwightish” but I found it clever and true to the Star Wars mythology. Thank you for a sweet read! I have placed your book on our employee “picks” shelf for this month. – Rico

  4. awsome bookkkkkk

  5. i have the book origami yoda but i cant make one

  6. Hi my name is Chingun and the email above is my dad’s. So I read your book The Strange Case of Origami Yoda and I choosed the book for my book report. So my teacher gave us a homework about the author’s life. I have been searching about your life and I didn’t find much info so I have a question about you. So do you like other things you enjoy besides writing?

  7. i am reading darth paper strikes back. I love origami. And I love your books! but origami yoda is better.

  8. you rock Tom Angleburger!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 42 other followers

