Christmas Notes

1) I watched the Rankin/Bass version of Cricket on the Hearth, by Charles Dickens.

It was Jacked Up X 2. Not every animated Victorian Christmas story has a jazzy burlesque number, after all.

So then I decided to see if how it compared to the actual story. I’m reading it now. It’s JACKED UP X 5.

Now remember, I’ve read plenty of Dickens. I’m used to his tricks and antics. But this time he’s gone all wacky tobaccky. The first 50* or so pages are about the tea kettle.

*hyperbole

2) We’ve been jamming out to OrganFairy’s Lego robot band: http://de.youtube.com/watch?v=ScSq_ArhvJQ

3) Having completed 15 scarves I put my loom away until after Xmas. And now I miss it. Can’t wait to get started again. I’m going to do a complete how-to Website for it called “The Geeky Weaver.”

4) I hope you’re not missing any of the Christmas fun over at http://www.cecebell.com

2 Responses

  1. Hey, I’m reading “Cricket on the Hearth,” too!

    And, yes, the kettle bit does sort of look like someone was making fun of his writing style, so Dickens got back at them by exaggerating.

    “Oh, yeah? Accuse me of drawing things out? Ha! Check out the blasted tea kettle!”

  2. Amazing Wickle! We’re becoming more and more synchronized each day.

    I think it’s a good thing I saw the cartoon version, otherwise I would have no idea what is going on.

    Last night I got to the point where the room is filled with all these tiny phantasms of the carrier and his wife at different ages.

    I hate to sound like a frat guy in a English Lit 101, but it seriously sounds like Dickens was on acid.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 42 other followers

